New Year Honours 2024: Celebrating Icons in Music, Arts, and Public Service

The New Year Honours 2024 have been announced, and the University of Oxford stands out with its members receiving prestigious recognitions. These honours highlight the extraordinary achievements and services of individuals across the UK, showcasing Oxford’s commitment to excellence in various fields.

The New Year Honours 2024 list is a testament to the diverse range of talents and contributions that enrich the UK. From arts and entertainment to science and public service, these honours recognize the individuals who have significantly impacted society and culture.

Professor Molly Stevens: A Beacon of Innovation in Medicine

Professor Molly Stevens, a prominent figure in the field of Medicine, has been appointed Dame Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (DBE). Her contributions to bionanoscience and her role as the Deputy Director of the Kavli Institute for Nanoscience Discovery are commendable. With a career spanning prestigious institutions like MIT and Imperial College London, Professor Stevens’ 40 awards signify her impact in medicine and technology.

Professor Roger James Goodman: A Pillar in Social Science

Appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE), Professor Goodman has been recognized for his services to Social Science. His tenure as Head of the Social Sciences Division at Oxford and his presidency at the Academy of Social Sciences underscore his influence in the field.

Professor Elizabeth Jane Robertson: Advancing Medical Sciences

Professor Robertson, a leader in developmental biology, has been appointed CBE for her services to Medical Sciences. Her research at the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology and her international recognitions, including the US National Academy of Sciences membership, highlight her groundbreaking work.

Professor David Rodney Heath-Brown: A Mathematical Maestro

Recognized for his contributions to Mathematics, Professor Heath-Brown, an Emeritus Fellow at the Mathematical Institute, has been appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE). His work in number theory and Diophantine analysis reflects the growing importance of mathematics in modern life.

Professor Julia Mary Yeomans and Professor Daniela Bortoletto: OBE Honorees

Both Professors Yeomans and Bortoletto have been appointed OBE for their services in Physics and Particle Physics, respectively. Professor Yeomans’ work in soft matter and biological physics and Professor Bortoletto’s contributions to the ATLAS experiment and gender equality in science are noteworthy.

Alexandra Vincent and Professor Matthew Snape: Recognizing Administrative and Public Health Excellence

Vincent, the Head of Divisional Registrar at the Humanities Division, has been appointed MBE for her services to Research Funding. Professor Snape, formerly of the Oxford Vaccine Group, received an MBE for his significant contributions to Public Health, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Tony Hudgell: Youngest Recipient of New Year Honour

Nine-year-old Tony Hudgell from West Malling, Kent, has become the youngest recipient of a New Year Honour, receiving the British Empire Medal (BEM) for his efforts in preventing child abuse. Despite being a double amputee due to injuries from his birth parents, Tony co-founded the Tony Hudgell Foundation, raising over £1.7 million for charity. Supported by his adoptive mother, Paula Hudgell, an OBE recipient, Tony’s work focuses on advocating for stricter child abuse sentencing, showcasing his resilience and dedication to helping others.

Dorothy Margaret Whittington: Honouring Volunteer Service

Whittington’s dedication as a volunteer at Oxford University Newcomers has earned her the Medallist of the Order of the British Empire (BEM) for her services to Volunteering and Higher Education.

Social Media Presence

Shirley Bassey: A Companion of Honour

Shirley Bassey, the voice behind iconic Bond songs like “Goldfinger” and “Diamonds Are Forever,” has been appointed a Companion of Honour for her services to music. This prestigious accolade places her among the elite in the arts, reflecting her status as one of the all-time bestselling artists.

Emilia Clarke and Mary Earps: Recognizing Talent in Entertainment and Sports

“Game of Thrones” star Emilia Clarke and England goalkeeper Mary Earps are also celebrated in this year’s honours. Clarke’s advocacy for brain injury survivors through her charity SameYou, and Earps’ achievements in football, including being named BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year for 2023, highlight their contributions beyond their professional fields.

Michael Eavis: Knighted for Music and Charity

Michael Eavis, the founder of the iconic Glastonbury festival, receives a knighthood, acknowledging his immense contribution to music and charity. His vision has not only shaped the music festival landscape but also supported numerous charitable causes.

Jilly Cooper and Ridley Scott: Dames and Knights in Literature and Film

Renowned romance author Jilly Cooper receives a damehood for her services to literature and charity, while filmmaker Sir Ridley Scott, known for classics like “Alien” and “Blade Runner,” is made a Knight Grand Cross for his services to the UK film industry.

Sajid Javid and Dame Margaret Beckett: Honours in Politics

Former chancellor and home secretary Sajid Javid is awarded a knighthood for political and public service, and Dame Margaret Beckett, the longest-serving female MP and the first female foreign secretary, receives a grand cross.

Tim Martin: Knighted for Services to Hospitality

Tim Martin, the founder of Wetherspoon’s, is knighted for his services to hospitality and culture, recognizing his impact in the hospitality industry and his role as a prominent Brexit campaigner.

Contributions in Science, Arts, and Public Service

The list also honors individuals like Maggie Aderin-Pocock, a space scientist and co-presenter of “The Sky at Night,” and Dame Carol M Black, a physician and government adviser, for their contributions to science and public health.


The New Year Honours 2024 underscore the University of Oxford’s role in fostering talent and excellence across various disciplines. From medicine and science to social sciences and public health, these honours reflect the university’s global impact and commitment to advancing knowledge and societal well-being.

Unsa Faheem

Unsa Faheem is a seasoned content writer specializing in the streaming industry. With a keen eye for the latest trends in TV shows, movies, and celebrity culture, She brings her expertise and enthusiasm to each piece she writes. Her work is characterized by insightful analysis and a deep understanding of the evolving media landscape.
Education: Engaging Content and Marketing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. (required)