Co-showrunner Miguel Sapochnik says GoodBye to ‘House of the Dragon’

Emmy-winning ‘Game of Thrones’ veteran Alan Taylor will take over in place of Miguel Sapochnik.

There has been a significant change at House of the Dragon: Miguel Sapochnik, co-showrunner and director of the HBO fantasy drama, is stepping down the recently released popular show.

According to sources, Sapochnik is leaving the show after devoting three years of effort to the Game of Thrones prequel. As the sole showrunner of Dragon, co-creator Ryan Condal will continue to collaborate closely with co-creator George R.R. Martin. Sapochnik has also signed a first-look agreement with HBO to create new projects, and he will continue to serve as the show’s executive producer throughout its run.

Exciting news is that the production has hired another acclaimed Thrones veteran, Alan Taylor, to serve as an executive producer and to direct multiple episodes in season two.

Taylor expressed his gratitude on returning to HBO in an official statement “It’s a pleasure and an honour to be back at HBO, immersing myself in the world of the Targaryens. I look forward to working closely with Ryan as House of the Dragon grows into its second season. Ryan, Miguel and George have launched an extraordinary story, in a rich and fascinating world. Returning to Westeros will be a huge undertaking and I’m looking forward to the challenge.”

Currently, the Dragon team is concentrating on wrapping up the VFX shots for season one and preparing the scripts for season two, which does not yet have a set start date for production. As the first season took 10 months to shoot and another nine months-plus of VFX work, the series is most likely to return in 2024 on HBO Max.

Avatar photo

Shehak Raza

Shehak is a sports/streaming freak and loves to watch different sports including NFL, NBA, Football and binge watching thriller and drama content is a hobby as well. This guy loves to eat pizza at anytime in any situation

Articles: 327

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *